22 Comedians battle for the 2022 GMLIVE Awards

22 Comedians battle for the 2022 GMLIVE Awards

Twenty-two comedians in the country to battle out for the ultimate award at the 2022 edition of the GMlive Comedy Awards (GMCA) which is scheduled to take place at the Mikado conference Centre on Saturday, January 2023 at exactly 7:00pm in Accra.

The awards which is in its second edition saw over forty comedians filing for their nominations to make a case in order to gain laurels for their exploits in the year under review.

Out of the number, 22 comedians were nominated to battle it all out for converted trophy.

Jeffrey Nortey battles with Akrobeto, Clemento Suarez, Okokobioko, Aka Ebenezer, Mj the comedian, Waris, Bismarck the Joke, SDK and General Vita Tia in the Comedy Actor of the year category.

Jacintha is logging horns with Akrobeto, OB Amponsah, Lekzy DC, Clemento Suarez, SDK, Don Little and Foster Romanus in the Star Comedian of the year category.

Three female comedians namely Miss World, Afia Barcelona and Jacintha are also racing to win the award for the Female Stand Up Comedian of the year.

NGO, Caleb Kudah, Lawyer Ntim, Oh Joo, Lekzy DC, Akrobeto, Jeneral Vita Tia are also nominated for the comedy television personality of the year.

Programmes like Weekend City Show KK, WMT, Angel Drive Accra and Around the World with Captain Marfo are competing in the comedy radio programme of the year category.

Ay Poyoo and Ajeezay are in stiff competition for the Comedy Music of the year Award while
A.D.D Filmmaker and Ashiboto Gh logged horns for the Comedy Skit Director of the Year.

Bubuashie Kelvin Hart, Ma-nuel, Kwame Obed, Sam Qweeku, Mr. Busy Mouth made it to the New Standup Comedian Category. Okokobioko, Hogan, Parrot Mouth, Pararan and Legend fight for the international award.

In the Theatre act Category, Monei Heist, Our Day, Are We Safe and Umoufia also compete for the converted trophy.

Hahaha Show, Laugh it Off, Laugh Line, New Year Comedy Show, The Good Sunday Comedy Night, Central Comedy Night, Laughter Clinic, MMC and 69 Comedy Night made it to the Comedy Event of the Year Category.

Khemikal, Jerry Jerry Ashinyo, TuTu Marven, Bubuashie Kelvin Hart, Augustine Dennis and OB Amponsah battle to be recognised as the comic writer of the year.

Meanwhile, Too Cute To Be Mute, Seriously Unserious, I’m Not Fooling, Popular Bot Broke, $ex After Marriage, One Night Stand with Jacintha, Fool Story, Romanus Incomplete, Ataamle and 69 Comedy Show also compete in the Comedy Special of the year Category.

Speaking in an interview with SpotOnNews in Accra on Tuesday, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of GMCA, Greg Miller explained that the awards seek to honour and celebrate talented comedians and industrial stakeholders who promote comedy in the country.

“The award seeks to honour comedians and stakeholders who are projecting Ghana comedy on the map,” he added.

Greg Miller said his outfit added seven new categories namely Promising standup comedian, Theatre act, Comedy MC, Skit director, Television and Radio program and
Comedy special of the year to the 10 award categories to make it more compelling.

He explained that the award was initiated to strengthen and propel comedians to become creative while encouraging Ghanaians to patronise comic events.

Miller Greg charged the fans and Ghanaians to vote for their favourite comedians, shows, programmes, clubs, events and directors for for them to win awards to boost their confidence in doing much more for the industry.

The Awards organised by Anansesam Media was brought in collaboration with SpotOnNews, Hype TV, Young PRS, Foka TV and sponsored by Tasty Wise.

Check out full nominees



Joyceline Natally Cudjoe

An Entertainment Columnist, Content Writer, Blogger, Novelist, Poet, and a Publicist. For business or story tip off, contact me on +233 24 646 6866 or email: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button