CID requests EC to assist in the investigation

CID requests EC to assist in the investigation of the 5 disqualified Presidential aspirants

CID requests EC to assist in the investigation of the 5 disqualified Presidential aspirants

The Criminal Investigation Department (CID) of the Ghana Police Service has requested for exhibits from the Electoral Commission (EC), to assist in investigations into alleged forged documents case against five disqualified presidential aspirants.

This follows official petition from EC to the CID to investigate alleged forgery against Mr Kofi Koranteng and Marrice Kofi Gane, both independent candidates, Akwasi Addae Odike of United Progress Party (UPP), Kwasi Busumbru of People’s Action Party (PAP) and Nana Agyenim Boateng of United Front Party (UFP).

The Director of the Documentation and Visa Fraud Unit of the CID, Chief Superintendent Alex Buabin, confirmed the request by the Unit to the EC, in Accra on Monday.

He said officials of the EC have assured to assist the police with the necessary documents to facilitate the alleged fraud case.

Earlier report stated that the CID had received official complaint from the EC to probe alleged forgery against the five disqualified presidential aspirants for the forthcoming December 7 elections.

According to the EC, those whose cases borders on fake voters register and fake signatories on the nomination forms have been referred to the CID for further action.

READ ALSO: Nana Konadu still competing in the 2020 Presidential elections race

Out of the 17 presidential aspirants who presented their nomination forms to the Electoral Commission (EC), five have been disqualified to contest this year’s presidential election on grounds of presenting unqualified registered voters.

Those who have been cleared to contest the December presidential election were Alfred Walker, an independent candidate, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo for New Patriotic Party (NPP), Christian Andrew of Ghana Union Movement (GUM), Brigitte Dzogbenuku of Progressive Peoples Party (PPP), John Mahama of National Democratic Congress (NDC) and Akua Donkor of Ghana Freedom Party (GFP).

The rest were Nana Konadu Agyemang-Rawlings of National Democratic Party (NDP), Hassan Ayariga of All Peoples Congress (APC), Ivor Greenstreet of Convention Peoples Party (CPP), Henry Lartey of Great Consolidated Peoples Party (GCPP), Kofi Akpaloo of Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) and David Apasera of Peoples National Convention (PNC).


Written by Joyceline Natally Cudjoe

An Entertainment Columnist, Content Writer, Blogger, Novelist, Poet, and a Publicist. For business or story tip off, contact me on +233 24 646 6866 or email: