87.8 per cent turnout at the special voting exercise---EC

87.8 per cent turnout at the special voting exercise—EC

87.8 per cent turnout at the special voting exercise—EC

87.8 per cent turnout at the special voting exercise—EC

About 87.8per cent Ghanaians turned out at the special voting exercise on Monday, December 1, the Electoral Commission (EC) has said.

A total of 109,577 persons including security personnel and journalists were expected to cast their ballots for their preferred presidential and parliamentary candidates across the country in the exercise.

But the chairperson of the Commission in responding to a question on the expected turnout for the main polls said the turnout was good.

She maintained that the Commission is aiming for a higher turnout in the December 7, 2020 general elections.

Madam Jean Mensa therefore urged Ghanaians to go out in their numbers to cast their vote without fear or intimidation.

READ ALSO: Special voting: Some Security personnel could not find their names in the register

“If I am to take a cue from the Special voting [where] we had a turnout of 87.8% during the exercise that took place on December 1, 2020, we are hoping that we will have such a turnout or higher with God being our helper and all things being equal [in the December 7 elections].”
Meanwhile, on the issue of persons who have misplaced their voter identification cards, she said such persons can still go and cast their ballot.
According to her, the Commission has every registered voter’s details.

Ghanaians will on Monday, December 7, 2020, go to the polls to elect a President and 275 Members of Parliament (MPs) to steer the affairs of the country for the next four years.

A total of 17,027,655 registered voters are expected to cast their ballot at about 33,367 polling stations across the country.

According to the Electoral Commission (EC), voting will commence at 7 am and end at 5 pm on election day.

In all, 12 candidates are on the ballots seeking to be elected as President of Ghana.

They are; Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (NPP), John Dramani Mahama (NDC), Christian Kwabena Andrews (GUM), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet (CPP), Akua Donkor (GFP), Henry Herbert Lartey (GCPP), Hassan Ayariga (APC), Percival Kofi Akpaloo (LPG), David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera (PNC), Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku (PPP), Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings (NDP) and Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, (Independent Candidate).

Source: www.spotonnews.net

Written by Joyceline Natally Cudjoe

An Entertainment Columnist, Content Writer, Blogger, Novelist, Poet, and a Publicist. For business or story tip off, contact me on +233 24 646 6866 or email: [email protected]

What do you think?